Leftfield announce live dates and new album – listen to first track now

Album will feature guests including Sleaford Mods

Leftfield are to release a new album, 16 years after their last.

The influential electronic act, formerly comprising Neil Barnes and Paul Daley but now centred on Barnes, released the genre-defining ‘Leftism’ in 1995, followed by ‘Rhythm And Stealth’ in 1999.

They today (March 26) announced details of a third album, ‘Alternative Light Source’, which will be released on June 8 via Infectious. Those pre-ordering the album today get an instant download of the seven-minute track ‘Universal Everything’, which you can listen to below.


As with previous Leftfield albums, the LP will feature a number of guest vocalists, including Channy Leaneagh (Poliça), Ofei, Tunde Adebimpe (TV On The Radio) and Sleaford Mods.

The ‘Alternative Light Source’ tracklisting is:

‘Bad Radio’
‘Universal Everything’
‘Head And Shoulders’
‘Dark Matters’
‘Little Fish’
‘Storms End’
‘Alternative Light Source’
‘Shaker Obsession’
‘Levitate For You’

Leftfield will play four dates around the release of the album, taking in Bristol, London, Manchester and Glasgow.

Leftfield will play:


Bristol, O2 Academy (June 11)
London, The Forum (12)
Manchester, Albert Hall (18)
Glasgow, Barrowland (19)

Tickets go on sale from 8am tomorrow (March 27). Tickets go onsale on Friday (July 27. To check the availability of Leftfield tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now