The Lemonheads are back with a new album – listen to their new track

Another covers album is to be released

The Lemonheads have announced their return with a new album dropping in February 2019.

‘Varshons II’ is the follow-up to the Boston band’s 2009 covers album, ‘Varshons’.

The first track off the album is a cover of Yo La Tengo’s ‘Can’t Forget’. Other renditions include songs by The Eagles, John Prine, Lucinda Williams, Nick Cave and The Bad Seeds, among others.


Ryan Adams said in 2012 that he was producing the album for the band and playing drums, but that hasn’t materialised.

The ‘Varshons II’ tracklist is:

‘Can’t Forget’ (Yo La Tengo)
‘Settled Down Like Rain’ (Jayhawks)
‘Old Man Blank’ (The Bevis Frond)
‘Things’ (Paul Westerberg)
‘Speed Of The Sound Of Loneliness’ (John Prine)
‘Abandoned’ (Lucinda Williams)
‘Now And Then’ (Natural Child)
‘Magnet’ (NRBQ)
‘Round Here’ (Florida Georgia Line)
‘TAQN’ (The Eyes)
‘Unfamiliar’ (The GiveGoods)
‘Straight To You’ (Nick Cave & The Bad Seeds)
‘Take It Easy’ (The Eagles)

Evan Dando of The Lemonheads

Frontman Evan Dando recently wrapped up a solo tour of intimate venues in the US, including Brooklyn’s Wonders of Natures and Randy Now’s man Cave in New Jersey.


Elsewhere, The Lemonheads have had a quiet few years save for sharing an album of unearthed recordings (‘Hotel Sessions’) and reissues of their first three ‘punk’ records in 2013.

‘Varshons II’ is released on February 8, 2019.

You May Like