Leonard Cohen to release new album ‘Old Ideas’ in January

The 10 track album is his first new collection in eight years

Leonard Cohen is set to release his brand new album, ‘Old Ideas’, on January 30, 2012.

The album is the legendary singer songwriter’s first new offering since 2004’s ‘Dear Heather’, and his 12th studio album since 1967.

Made up of 10 tracks, recording for the album started in January of this year, though some of the songs have been in the works for much longer, with ‘Lullaby’ and ‘The Darkness’ performed live on Cohen’s last world tour.

The album was produced by Patrick Leonard, Anjani Thomas, Ed Sanders and Dino Soldo and features backing vocals from Dana Glover, Sharon Robinson, The Webb Sisters and longtime Cohen collaborator Jennifer Warnes.

The song ‘Show Me The Place’ is streaming now at Leonardcohen.com and is available as an instant download for those who pre-order the album at Cohen’s website.

The ‘Old Ideas’ tracklisting is:

‘Going Home’
‘Show Me The Place’
‘The Darkness’
‘Crazy To Love You’
‘Come Healing’
‘Different Sides’