Lily Allen, Johnny Marr, Bat For Lashes win Ivor Novello awards

Paolo Nutini and Imogen Heap also take home gongs

Lily Allen, Bat For Lashes, Johnny Marr and Paolo Nutini were among the acts to win Ivor Novello awards at the event’s ceremony in London this afternoon (May 20).

Allen won three awards at the event, which honours songwriting. She and producer Greg Kurstin won the PRS For Music Most Performed Work and Best Song Musically And Lyrically for her song ‘The Fear’. The pair won the Songwriters Of The Year award for her album ‘It’s Not Me It’s You’.

Bat For Lashes won the Best Comtemporary Song award for ‘Daniel’. The Best TV Soundtrack award went to Daniel Pemberton for ‘Desperate Romantics’.

Allen said she was “overwhelmed” as she picked up her award at the Grosvenor House Hotel, while Bat For LashesNatasha Khan described herself as “shocked”.

She added: “Thank you. Who’d have thought that when I was sitting in my pyjamas in my bed writing this song I’d be here picking up this award?”

Marr won the Ivors Inspiration award, which was presented to him by Franz Ferdinand‘s Alex Kapranos.

“I always thought the greatest thing you can be called as a musician is to be called an inspiration,” the former Smiths guitarist said from the stage. “Apart from the big house in Sunningdale, of course! I do believe that rock music and pop music is an art form. It’s all about inspiration.”

Paolo Nutini won the Album award for his effort ‘Sunny Side Up’, while Imogen Heap won the International Achievement gong.

The PRS For Music Outstanding Contribution To British Music went to producer Trever Horn while the Special International Award was presented to Neil Sedaka.

The Best Original Film Score went to John Powell for Ice Age 3: Dawn Of The Dinosaurs, while the Ivors Classical Music awards went to Sir Peter Maxwell Davis. The Best Original Video Game Score went to Killzone 2.

See for more.