Lily Allen scores second UK Number One single

Bruce Springsteen beats Franz Ferdinand to the top of the Official Albums Chart

Lily Allen has scored her second Number One in the Official Singles Chart with ‘The Fear’ today (February 1).

The singer went straight in at the top with the track, ending Lady Gaga‘s three-week reign, who went down to Number Two with ‘Just Dance’.

Allen previously hit Number One in the UK with ‘Smile’ in 2006.


Other new entries in the Official Singles Chart included Orange unsignedAct winner Tommy Reilly at Number 14 with ‘Gimme A Call’ and The Airborne Toxic Event at Number 39 with ‘Sometime Around Midnight’.

In the Official Albums Chart, Bruce Springsteen hit Number One with ‘Working On A Dream’, whilst Franz Ferdinand‘s third album ‘Tonight: Franz Ferdinand’ entered at Number Two.

White Lies, meanwhile, slipped to Number Eight after hitting Number One last week with their debut album ‘To Lose My Life…’ last week (January 25).

The Top 10 UK singles are:

1. Lily Allen – ‘The Fear’

2. Lady Gaga – ‘Just Dance’


3. Kid Cudi vs Crookers – ‘Day ‘n’ Nite’

4. Tinchy Stryder Ft Taio Cruz – ‘Take Me Back’

5. James Morrison and Nelly Furtado – ‘Broken Strings’

6. Alesha Dixon – ‘Breathe Slow’

7. Kevin Rudolf Ft Lil Wayne – ‘Let It Rock’

8. Beyonce – ‘Single Ladies (Put A Ring On It)’

9. Saturdays – ‘Issues’

10. Kings Of Leon – ‘Use Somebody’

The Top 10 UK albums are:

1. Bruce Springsteen – ‘Working On A Dream’

2. Franz Ferdinand – ‘Tonight: Franz Ferdinand’

3. Kings Of Leon – ‘Only By The Night’

4. Lady Gaga – ‘The Fame’

5. James Morrison – ‘Songs For You Truths For Me’

6. Script – ‘Script’

7. Beyonce – ‘I Am Sasha Fierce’

8. White Lies – ‘To Lose My Life’

9. Jason Mraz – ‘We Sing We Dance We Steal Things’

10. The Killers – ‘Day & Age’