Mike Shinoda says Linkin Park’s new live album is part of his “non-linear process” of grief

'One More Night Live' features 16 songs from the European leg of the tour

Linkin Park‘s new live album, One More Night Live, was released today (December 15), marking the band’s first release since the death of singer Chester Bennington.

Bennington passed away in July after taking his own life. He was 41.

The band were only able to play 21 dates of the One More Night tour before Bennington’s tragic passing and as Mike Shinoda explains, the release of the record came from the band’s friends and fans.


“It’s a really nice way to showcase what a special experience each night was,” he told Billboard. “And while I don’t know what comes next for us together or individually, this album is certainly a beautiful way of looking back at the body of work we created with Chester.”

“Grief is a non-linear process. It doesn’t have ‘stages’ that go in order, it has phases that come and go at random. Some people are having sad days, others are having good days, others are having angry days…add the constant stress and fear of things like the news cycle, and you’ve got some exceptional chaos on your hands!” he continued.

“So I’ve tried to make it a point to share how I’m doing, mostly on Instagram and sometimes Twitter, especially when I feel like I’m making progress. Coping with the end of this chapter is obviously devastating, but at the same time, it’s also the beginning of the next story.”

Check out the album’s full tracklisting below.

  1. Talking to Myself
  2. Burn it Down
  3. Battle Symphony
  4. New Divide
  5. Invisible
  6. Nobody Can Save Me
  7. One More Light
  8. Crawling
  9. Leave Out All the Rest
  10. Good Goodbye (feat Stormzy)
  11. What I’ve Done
  12. In the End
  13. Sharp Edges
  14. Numb
  15. Heavy
  16. Bleed It Out

Read the band’s full statement about the release below:


“We dedicate this live album to our brother Chester who poured his heart and soul into one more light. After we finished recording the album, we joked with Chester that – since he had delivered so many stunning performances in the studio – he had set the bar extra high to produce that alchemy on stage each night. Not surprisingly, he welcomed the challenge.

The shows we played together during the early summer of 2017 were extraordinary. Chester shared with us that he felt this was the best tour we had ever done. The camaraderie and joy we experienced on stage reflected our deep connection with each other, with our fans, and with the music.

Every night before walking out onto the stage, we would huddle, get focused, and share whatever last-second remarks popped into our heads. Chester always took it upon himself to turn the name of the city where we were playing into a first-rate run. This was our ritual. Best of all, it was a moment to express our gratitude that we were living our dream.

Chester never forgot to express his appreciation to our crew – the men and women who traveled the world with us, making our dream into reality night after night. Without them, these shows would not have been possible.

Chester was uniquely passionate, uncommonly generous, sensitive, optimistic, funny and kind. With his voice, he turned pain into catharsis, authenticity into art, and passion into connection. His dedication to bringing these songs to life was triumphant. For those of you who attended this tour in person, we thank you. For those who could not, we hope this live album gives you a glimpse into how magical these shows were for the six of us.”