Thanks For The Dance: Leonard Cohen’s son unveils new posthumous album and shares first track

"I'm going down again, but I'm not alone"

A new posthumous album from the late Leonard Cohen has been announced. You can listen to ‘The Goal’ now.

The legendary Canadian crooner died in November 2016 after suffering injuries that stemmed from a fall in the middle of the night.

After it was confirmed in 2018 that a posthumous album is in the works, ‘Thanks For The Memories’ will now arrive on November 22.


The record was developed by Cohen’s son Adam and saw him fulfilling his father’s wish to complete the “bare musical sketches” that he left behind from his final album ‘You Want It Darker’.

In doing so, Adam recruited the likes of Spanish guitarist Javier Mas – who accompanied Leonard on stage for the last eight years of touring.

While attending Berlin’s People Festival, Adam also invited a cast of all-star friends to lend their talents to the record. Damien Rice and Leslie Feist provide vocals on the record, while Richard Reed Parry of Arcade Fire plays  bass and Bryce Dessner of The National plays guitar.

Other notable additions on the record include composer Dustin O’Halloran, as well as Berlin choir Cantus Domus and the s t a r g a z e orchestra.

Check out the tracklisting and artwork  in full below.

  1. Happens to the Heart
  2. Moving On
  3. The Night of Santiago
  4. Thanks for the Dance
  5. It’s Torn
  6. The Goal
  7. Puppets
  8. The Hills
  9. Listen to the Hummingbird


The first track from the record comes in ‘The Goal’ – which clocks in at barely 60 seconds long. It begins as a spoken-word effort accompanied by a sole piano, before Cohen’s vocals are eventually backed up by a stirring Spanish guitar.

Adam Cohen said of the album: “In composing and arranging the music for his words, we chose his most characteristic musical signatures, in this way keeping him with us,” said Adam Cohen. “What moves me most about the album is the startled response of those who have heard it. ‘Leonard lives’! they say, one after the other.”

Adam also worked as a producer on his father’s last album, 2016’s ‘You Want It Darker’.
Earlier this year, Cohen’s relationship with his muse Marianne Ihlen was released. Directed by Nick Broomfield, Marianne & Leonard tracks the musician’s relationship with Ihlen, who inspired songs including ‘So Long, Marianne’.