Listen to The Jesus And Mary Chain’s new song ‘Always Sad’

'Damage And Joy', the band's first full-length release in over 18 years, is due for release in March.

The Jesus and Mary Chain have shared ‘Always Sad’, a new song from their upcoming album.

‘Damage And Joy’, the band’s first full-length release in over 18 years, is due for release on March 23. The band previously shared the song ‘Amputation’ from the album.

Always Sad

Always Sad, an album by The Jesus and Mary Chain on Spotify

Discussing the album’s origins, lead singer Jim Reid said: “We started to – can you believe? – listen to each other a bit more. In the last couple of years, we’ve buried the hatchet to some degree, and thankfully not into each other.

“Most people who know us would say that we haven’t mellowed that much. I think it was to do with the fact, dare I say it, that wisdom comes with age. Let’s live and let live, and let’s take each other’s opinions into account.”

The East Kilbride five-piece hit the road in March in support of their forthcoming new album. See the band’s full tour dates below.

Thu March 23 2017 – Northumbria University, Newcastle upon Tyne
Sat March 25 2017 – Academy, Manchester
Mon March 27 2017 – Church, Leeds
Tue March 28 2017 – O2 Academy, Leicester
Wed March 29 2017 – O2 Academy, Bristol
Fri March 31 2017 – O2 Institute, Birmingham
Sat April 01 2017 – O2 Academy, Bournemouth
Sun April 02 2017 – O2 Academy, Oxford
Mon April 03 2017 – Junction 1, Cambridge
Wed April 05 2017 – O2 Shepherds Bush Empire, London
Thu April 06 2017 – De La Warr Pavilion, Bexhill On Sea
Fri April 07 2017 – Academy, Dublin