Jonny Greenwood reveals two previously unreleased tracks from ‘There Will Be Blood’ score

The tracks accompany the scores first ever vinyl release

Radiohead guitarist Jonny Greenwood’s acclaimed score for the 2007 movie There Will Be Blood got its first ever release on vinyl today, and it featured two previously unreleased songs.

The music, which was nominated for a Grammy award in 2008, was the first of a series of collaborations between Greenwood and Director Paul Thomas Anderson. The Radiohead man went on to produce music for Anderson’s The Master (2012), Inherent Vice (2014) and Phantom Thread (2017).

The two previously unreleased tracks, ‘Proven Lands (Intro)’ and ‘De-Tuned Quartet’ can be streamed below.

Proven Lands

Proven Lands, a song by Jonny Greenwood on Spotify

De-Tuned Quartet

De-Tuned Quartet, a song by Jonny Greenwood on Spotify

Greenwood took the score on tour with him across the UK in 2017 for a series of live performances.

Meanwhile, Greenwood’s bandmate Thom Yorke recently released a film score of his own, for horror remake ‘Suspiria’. During the promotion for the film, Yorke told BBC Radio 1 that he was “jealous” of Greenwood’s ability when it came to writing music for film.

Radiohead’s Thom Yorke and Jonny Greenwood

“Jonny’s just so far ahead – he understands orchestration works, he can read music, he’s studied it all. I mean, he sits there studying scores,” he told DJ Phil Taggart.

“For Paul Thomas Anderson’s last film, he went away and read all the scores from the period of the composers of the time. That is not gonna happen with me because I can’t read music.”

Greenwood recently released the sheet music for another one of his original compositions. This one is titled ’88 (No.1)’ and was originally written in 2015.