Listen to R.E.M. and Sleater-Kinney supergroup Filthy Friends’ anti-Trump song, ‘Despierta’

"Your time is over / Your power's peaked" sings Corin Tucker on the new track

Filthy Friends, the supergroup that features members of R.E.M. and Sleater-Kinney, have shared a new song, ‘Despierta’, which bashes the Republican candidate Donald Trump.

The new band, who feature Sleater-Kinney’s Corin Tucker, R.E.M.’s Peter Buck, the Minus 5’s Scott McCaughey and Kurt Bloch, and King Crimson drummer Bill Rieflin, are set to release a full-length album next year after forming back in January. Writing on R.E.M’s website last week, Buck revealed that the already-recorded album will be “out on a cool record label later next year.” (via Rolling Stone)

The new song, ‘Despierta’ (which translates as ‘awake’ from Spanish), has been written for the ’30 Days, 40 Songs’ project (previously known as ’30 Days, 30 Songs’), which aims to release at least one song a day by artists who are “united in our desire to speak out against the ignorant, divisive, and hateful campaign of Donald Trump.”


Filthy Friends join the likes of Death Cab For Cutie, Franz Ferdinand and R.E.M. in writing songs for the project.

Listen to ‘Despierta’ below.

As previously mentioned, Franz Ferdinand contributed to the project earlier this month with the anti-Trump song ‘Demagogue’.

Meanwhile, streams of Janet Jackson’s ‘Nasty’ soared by 250% after Trump’s branded his opponent, Hillary Clinton, a “nasty woman” during the third televised Presidential Debate last week.




Kevin Smith: “I’m the world’s biggest Kevin Smith fan”

The beloved cult filmmaker reflects on an extraordinary career

The Best Films of the Decade: The 2010s

As chosen by NME

The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s