Local Natives announce release of new album ‘Hummingbird’

Their second LP has been produced by Aaron Dessner of The National

Local Natives will release their second album, ‘Hummingbird’, on January 28, 2013.

The Los Angeles based band will follow their 2010 debut ‘Gorilla Manor’ with the new 11-track album, which includes the track ‘Breakers’, which you can listen to below.

The album was produced by the band alongside Aaron Dessner of The National and recorded in Montreal and Brooklyn, reports Pitchfork.

Speaking to Pitchfork about working with Dessner, Local Natives’ Matt Frazier said: “One night, after maybe drinking a little bit too much, he was like, “Maybe I should work with you guys.” We were like, “Sure, buddy.” After meeting with all these other producers, it just seemed like we should work with somebody we really get along with and respect as a songwriter.”

Kelcey Ayer added that ‘Hummingbird’ is “a heavier record for us… We got a lot deeper on this album. ‘Gorilla Manor’ is a little lighter on the surface.”

The band will appear at The National curated All Tomorrow’s Parties festival in Camber Sands on December 8. They also play a one-off show at London’s Hoxton Bar & Kitchen on December 6.

The tracklisting for ‘Hummingbird’ is:

‘You & I’
‘Heavy Feet’
‘Black Spot’
‘Three Months’
‘Black Balloons’
‘Woolly Mammoth’
‘Mt. Washington’