Watch as Local Natives reveal new album, video and tour

Video for ‘Villainy’ single is unveiled as quintet return after three years.

Local Natives have confirmed details of new album ‘Sunlit Youth’ and shared the video for its first single, ‘Villainy’.

The album is said to complete a trilogy begun with 2010’s ‘Gorilla Manor’ and 2013’s ‘Hummingbird’ and will be released on September 9.

‘Villainy’ was premiered by being named as a World Record on Zane Lowe’s Beats 1 show yesterday (June 6) and is followed by its video directed by Andrew Droz Palermo, who directed the documentary Rich Hill as well as videos for White Rabbits, Believers and ARMS.

‘Sunlit Youth’ also features ‘Past Lives’, which was released as a surprise teaser track in April.

The band play at End Of The Road and Electric Picnic festivals before a full UK tour in November. The full tracklisting for ‘Sunlit Youth’ is: ‘Villainy’; ‘Past Lives’; ‘Dark Days’; ‘Fountain Of Youth’; ‘Masters’; ‘Jellyfish’; ‘Coins’; ‘Mother Emmanuel’; ‘Ellie Alice’; ‘Psycho Lovers’; ‘Everything All At Once’; ‘Sea Of Years’.

Guitarist Ryan Harn said of ‘Sunlit Youth’: “A lot of the excitement in making this new album came from discovering how to make songs in different ways. You start thinking What do I want to hear?’ Forget about what we’ve done and what people expect. ‘Villainy’ is a song that I would want to hear. Lyrically, Villainy is about realising that you have the ability to change your situation, that you can start again everyday. We applied that to how we made music this time around. We wanted all the new songs to have a different energy, to challenge ourselves to do something different each time.”

Local Natives will play:
Oxford Academy (November 1)
London Koko (2)
Bristol Motion (4)
Glasgow QMU (6)
Leeds Stylus (7)
Manchester Albert Hall (8)