London Grammar reveal full details of new album ‘Californian Soil’ and share title track – listen

Their third album lands in February

London Grammar have today (October 1) announced their third album, ‘Californian Soil’, and shared the title track, artwork and tracklist.

The trio said the song marked such a “turning point for us as a band” that they decided to name their forthcoming record (due February 12, 2021) after it. You can listen to the new single below.


‘Californian Soil’ is the second cut from the band’s upcoming LP, which is their first album since 2017’s ‘Truth Is A Beautiful Thing‘.

Singer Hannah Reid said in a statement that the album is about her “gaining possession” of her own life. Reid, who has experienced misogyny in the music industry first-hand, said the support of fellow bandmates Dan Rothman and Dot Major helped her find the power to move beyond her past and lead the band.

“Misogyny is primitive,” Reid said, “which is why it is so hard to change. But it is also fearful. It’s about rejecting the thing in yourself which is vulnerable or feminine. Yet everybody has that thing.”

Reid continued: “This record is about gaining possession of my own life. You imagine success will be amazing. Then you see it from the inside and ask, ‘Why am I not controlling this thing? Why am I not allowed to be in control of it? And does that connect, in any way to being a woman? If so, how can I do that differently?'”

The band have also shared the album artwork and tracklist.

Artwork for ‘Californian Soil’


‘Californian Soil’ tracklist:

01. ‘Intro’
02. ‘Californian Soil’
03. ‘Missing’
04. ‘Lose Your Head’
05. ‘Lord It’s A Feeling’
06. ‘How Does It Feel’
07. ‘Baby It’s You’
08. ‘Call Your Friends’
09. ‘All My Love’
10. ‘Talking’
11. ‘I Need The Night’
12. ‘America’

Fans can pre-order ‘Californian Soil’ here.

London Grammar will also perform tonight on the BBC‘s Later…With Jools Holland (programme airs at 10pm BST).

‘Baby It’s You’ was released last month – the group’s first new music since their 2019 collaboration with Flume, ‘Let You Know’.

Last year, singer Hannah Reid said of the collaboration: “Working with [Flume] was an honour because he pushes the boundaries of electronic music like nobody else. He’s the kind of electronic artist who will be around forever. I love our song we did together.”

Meanwhile, NME noted ‘Baby It’s You’ “carries the trio’s familiar atmospherics and some of the more trance-driven elements akin to early single ‘Metal & Dust’, but also features a new, more colourful Balearic sound and vibe with the assistance of acclaimed electronic producer George FitzGerald”.

In other news, the trio recently performed a cover of The Weeknd’s hit track ‘Blinding Lights’ for BBC Radio 1’s Live Lounge series.

You May Like