Ex-Lostprophets members announce details of first single as new band No Devotion

The band admit they thought they would never make music again

The remaining members of Lostprophets have announced details of their new band’s debut single – and admitted they weren’t certain if they’d carry on making music.

The band will continue under the name No Devotion, without singer Ian Watkins after he was jailed for 35 years in December 2013 for a string of child sex offences. No Devotion’s singer is Geoff Rickly, formerly of metal band Thursday.

Bassist Stuart Richardson said: “We didn’t know if we would ever make music again or if people would look us in the face. Everything felt like it was over.”


No Devotion release their debut single ‘Stay’, backed by ‘Eyeshadow’, on Collect Records today (July 1). They also tour in July. Speaking of their decision to carry on, Richardson said: “We didn’t know what else to do: we just wrote music. I didn’t know if anyone would ever want to hear it. I just needed to occupy my brain. We just needed this.” No Devotion also features guitarists Mike Lewis and Luke Gaze, drummer Luke Johnson and keyboardist Jamie Oliver.

Rickly admitted that he “hadn’t really listened” to Lostprophets, but that he liked them as people. He said: “You don’t really grow out of punk, you grow with it. To my mind, post-punk was about taking a more sophisticated approach to that sound, and I think we all have a shared respect for that era of modern music.”

Speaking of the fall-out from Watkins’ sentence, Rickly added: “I didn’t think it was fair, what was happening to them. And, well, the music was too good to pass up.”

No Devotion will play:

Cardiff CF10 (July 22)
Manchester Sound Control (23)
London O2 Islington Academy (25)
Glasgow O2 ABC2 (26)

To check the availability of No Devotion tickets and get all the latest listings, head to NME.COM/tickets.