Lykke Li announces new album ‘So Sad So Sexy’ and shares two hip-hop inspired tracks

Swedish singer worked with ex-Vampire Weekend member and more

Lykke Li has announced details of her new album, as well as sharing two tracks from it.

‘So Sad So Sexy’, the Swedish singer’s fourth record to date, will be released on June 8 via RCA. It follows on from 2014’s ‘I Never Learn’.

Ahead of the album’s release, Li has shared two lead singles. Both see Lykke singing over hip-hop inspired, trap-like beats.


‘Deep End’ is produced by Kanye collaborator Jeff Bhasker, Frank Ocean and Zayn producer Malay and Drake/Kendrick beatmaker T-Minus, while ‘Hard Rain’ is produced by ex-Vampire Weekend member Rostam.

Lykke’s album will also feature a guest spot from US rapper Aminé on the track ‘Two Nights’.

Listen to ‘Hard Rain’ and ‘Deep End’ below:

See the album’s tracklist and artwork:


1 ‘Hard Rain’
2 ‘Deep End’
3 ‘Two Nights’ [ft. Aminé]
4 ‘Last Piece’
5 ‘Jaguars in the Air’
6 ‘Sex Money Feelings Die’
7 ‘So Sad So Sexy’
8 ‘Better Alone’
9 ‘Bad Woman’
10 ‘Utopia’

Lykke Li’s ‘So Sad So Sexy’ artwork

Lykke Li will make live appearances at All Points East festival, BBC’s Biggest Weekend and more this summer.

In 2016, she formed the band LIV with producer Jeff Bhasker – along with members of Miike Snow and Peter Bjorn and John.

Last year, Lykke Li and Ryan Gosling covered Bob Marley in Song To Song. During the film, in which Li portrays Gosling’s ex-lover, the pair performed ‘It Hurts To Be Alone’. Their version was produced by Nigel Godrich.


The Best Songs Of The Decade: The 2010s

Here – after much debate – are the 100 very best songs of 2010s

The Best Albums of The Decade: The 2010s

Here it is: the ultimate guide to the 100 essential albums of the 2010s, picked, ranked and dissected by NME experts