Madonna hits number one in UK singles chart

‘Sorry’ is the biggest seller this week

Madonna has gone straight to the top of the UK singles chart tonight with ‘Sorry’ (February 26).

The Queen Of Pop shot straight into pole position despite a strong new entry from Corrine Bailey Rae at two with ‘Put Your Records On’ and Westlife at four with ‘Amazing’.

Last week’s number one from Meck featuring Leo Sayer with ‘Thunder In My Heart Again’ falls to the three while The Darkness debut inside the top ten with ‘Is It Just Me’ at eight.


Other new entries this week come from Simon Webbe at 16 with ‘After All This Time’, Michael Jackson at 17 with ‘Don’t Stop Til You Get Enough’, Morning Runner at 19 with ‘Burning Benches’, Maximo Park at 21 with ‘I Want You To Stay’, Delays at 23 with ‘Valentine’ and We Are Scientists at 29 with ‘It’s A Hit’.

Alkaline Trio make their chart impression at 34 with ‘Burn’ and Funeral For A Friend hit 39 with ‘Roses For The Dead’.

In the UK album chart, Jack Johnson is at number one with ‘In Between Dreams’.

This week’s top ten selling singles are:

1. Madonna – ‘Sorry’

2. Corinne Bailey Rae – ‘Put Your Records On’


3. Meck featuring Leo Sayer – ‘Thunder In My Heart Again’

4. Westlife – Amazing’

5. Notorious BIG – ‘Nasty Girl’

6. The Ordinary Boys – ‘Boys Will Be Boys’

7. Chris Brown featuring Juelz Santana – ‘Run It’

8. The Darkness – ‘Is It Just Me’

9. Source featuring Candi Staton

10. Fall Out Boy – ‘Sugar We’re Goin’ Down’