Mahalia and Slowthai lead the BBC Sound of 2019 longlist

The BBC Sound of 2019 longlist has been revealed, and it’s a list that leans strongly on solo artist as the stars of the next year.

The prestigious accolade celebrates acts that have been tipped for success in the forthcoming year, with previous winners including 2018 victor Sigrid, Years & Years & Sam Smith.

But as 2019 rolls round, the BBC reckons that it could be the year that the likes of Mahalia, Grace Carter, King Princess and Slowthai could achieve huge success. You can check out the longlist in full below.

  • Dermot Kennedy
  • Ella Mai
  • Flohio
  • Grace Carter
  • King Princess
  • Mahalia
  • Octavian
  • Rosalía
  • Sea Girls
  • Slowthai

All 10 artists on the longlist were selected by a panel of 136 influential figures inside the music industry, including Glastonbury boss Emily Eavis, Years & Years frontman Olly Alexander and Stormzy. To qualify for the accolade, nominees can’t be “widely known by the UK general public”, and will not qualify if they have been the main artist on a single or record that has charted in the UK top 10 prior to 22 October 2018.

James Stirling, the head of BBC Music and BBC Music Introducing, said: “For 17 years the BBC Music Sound Of list has been celebrating exciting up-and-coming talent and this year we are proud to recognise the work of such an eclectic mix of musicians. There’s a wealth of talent coming through and I look forward to seeing the artists build their reputations in 2019”.