Major Lazer: ‘England doesn’t like us for some reason’

Group's forthcoming LP 'Peace Is The Mission due out in June

Major Lazer have bemoaned the lack of radio play they receive in England.

The electronic trio recently released the single ‘Lean On’ ahead of their forthcoming new album ‘Peace Is The Mission’. In an interview with Digital Spy, group member Diplo was asked if the track is the most ‘pop’ song they’ve put out to date.

The producer and DJ replied, “I dunno. ‘Bumaye’ wasn’t pop but it was the biggest record we ever did. It went gold in like every European country… besides England who doesn’t like us for some reason.


“The fans like us, they come to our shows, but they don’t put us on the radio. It doesn’t matter, because you know what? That’s what the internet’s for.”

Major Lazer was founded by Diplo and English DJ and producer Switch in 2008. The pair parted ways in late 2011, however, and Diplo has since brought Jillionaire and Walshy Fire into the group.

‘Peace Is The Mission’ is due to be released in June, and will feature appearances from MØ, Ellie Goulding, Travi$ Scott, 2 Chainz, Pusha T and Elliphant among others. There is also a remix for the Ariana Grande song ‘All My Love’, which appeared on The Hunger Games: Mockingjay Part One soundtrack.

Diplo has also claimed that Madonna wants to guest feature on one of the group’s tracks. The 36-year-old collaborated with the pop star on her recently-released album ‘Rebel Heart’ and says one of the tracks spawned from an idea he had for a Major Lazer number.

“Yeah she would love to,” said Diplo when asked by Digital Spy if Madonna would return the favour. “She did a dubplate for us and I think ‘Unapologetic Bitch’ was a Major Lazer idea that we just wrote real quick and she loved it so it came out as one of her songs.

Peace Is the Mission:


‘Be Together’ featuring Wild Belle
‘Too Original’ featuring Elliphant & Jovi Rockwell
‘Blaze Up The Fire’ featuring Chronixx
‘Lean On’ featuring MØ & DJ Snake
‘Powerful’ featuring Ellie Goulding & Tarius Riley
‘Light It Up’ featuring Nyla
‘Roll the Bass’
‘Night Riders’ featuring Travi$ Scott, 2 Chainz, Pusha T & Mad Cobra
‘All My Love’ featuring Ariana Grande & Machel Montano (Remix)