Manic Street Preachers make live return

Band debut two new tracks at XFM Manchester gig

Manic Street Preachers premiered two new songs during their live comeback in Manchester last night (December 8).

The Welsh rockers appeared onstage together for the first time since James Dean Bradfield and Nicky Wire launched solo projects and included ‘I’m Just A Patsy’ and ‘Autumn Song’ in the set headlining XFM Winter Wonderland gig at the Apollo.

Built around trademark riffs, both new songs are set to appear on new album ‘Send Away The Tigers’, due for release in Spring 2007.

The 45-minute set also saw the band tear through some of their biggest hits, including ‘Motorcycle Emptiness’, ‘If You Tolerate This Your Children Will Be Next’, and ‘You Love Us’.

Former Thirteen:13 frontman Wayne Murray, who toured with Bradfield in his solo band, joined the band on guitar, bolstering the group who regularly feature keyboardist Nick Naysmith – to a five piece.

“It’s fucking amazing to be back,” Bradfield told the crowd.

He then joked that the break had been good for drummer Sean Moore‘s health: “How come after two years off, suddenly Sean looks about 12-years-old?� It’s amazing we’re calling him Sean ‘Dorian Gray’ Moore�.”

Following finale ‘A Design For Life’, Bradfield promised more dates in the new year, telling fans to expect a tighter, more vicious version of the band.

Manic Street Preachers played:

‘You Love Us’

‘I’m Just A Patsy’

‘Motorcycle Emptiness’


‘If You Tolerate This Then Your Children Will Be Next’

‘From Despair To Where’

‘Autumn Song’

‘Enola Alone’

‘You Stole The Sun From My Heart’

‘Motown Junk’

‘A Design For Life’

The Manic Street Preachers headlining appearence followed a host of other bands, including The Magic Numbers, The Rakes, Mumm-Ra, Little Man Tate and a solo set from La’s man John Power.

Badly Drawn Boy and Liam Frost, meanwhile, both received a warm hometown reception during their sets.