The single namechecks a former US President...

Manic Street Preachers will release their new single and album this autumn.

Although the dates have yet to be confirmed by the band’s label Sony, retailer HMV lists that a new single, ‘The Love Of Richard Nixon’ will be released on September 27, followed by their seventh studio album ‘Life Blood’ on October 4.

The band recorded part of the album last year in New York with David Bowie producer Tony Visconti, and also worked with Goldfrapp engineer Tom Elmhirst.

Other songs set for inclusion on the album are ‘A Song For Departure’, ‘1985’, ‘Firefight’, ‘To Repel Ghosts’, ‘Emily’, ‘Fragments’, ‘Askew Road’, ‘Solitude Sometimes Is’, ‘Glasnost’, ‘Always, Never’, ‘I Live To Fall Asleep’, ‘Cardiff Afterlife’, ‘Empty Souls’ and ‘Litany’.

Bassist and songwriter Nicky Wire told NME.COM: “It really is the poppiest album we’ve ever done. The mixer of Goldfrapp has been working with us, and he’s given it a really lovely sheen and a modern edge. We’ve been listening to The Associates, early [/a]. It’s ‘The Holy Bible’ for 35-year-olds!”

The band are also planning a special edition DVD of ‘The Holy Bible’ to mark their landmark album’s tenth anniversary.