Manic Street Preachers to celebrate 21st anniversary with singles collection

Welsh trio set for 'Best Of' collection and new track this autumn

Manic Street Preachers will release a new compilation ‘National Treasures – The Complete Singles’ in October.

The band’s second ‘Best Of’ collection brings together 38 tracks in order to celebrate 21 years since the band’s first single release, ‘Motown Junk’, which was put out in 1990 by Heavenly Recordings.

Songs from all of the band’s 10 albums will feature on the new album, including tracks from their most recent effort, 2010’s ‘Postcards From A Young Man’ as well as a brand new single, the name of which is yet to be revealed. The album will be released in several formats.

Earlier this month, the iconic band played a special show as part of the iTunes Festival at the Roundhouse in London.

At the gig, bassist Nicky Wire took a swipe at the Royal Family, saying:

We were gonna take a year off from touring altogether next year but we are gonna do one gig just to avoid the Diamond Jubilee. I mean, how fucking saturated have we been with the Royal Family this year? So there’ll be one gig, just to avoid having to listen to Prince Philip for an hour.

The band’s set also saw a rare outing for ‘Gold Against The Soul’ track ‘Life Becoming A Landslide’, before which Wire paid tribute to late guitarist Richey Edwards.