Manic Street Preachers announce huge Cardiff Castle show

Special guests confirmed for Cardiff Castle concert next June

Manic Street Preachers have announced a huge stadium concert at Cardiff Castle for next June, when they will perform the whole of their classic 1998 album ‘This Is My Truth, Tell Me Yours’.

The show on Saturday June 29 features Sunflower Bean as special guests. Tickets are £39.50, on sale on Friday (November 30) and will be available from this link here at 9.30am.

The concert at the 10,000-capacity castle is the first Welsh show to be announced to celebrate the album’s 20th anniversary, with a tour for May having already been announced, with support from Gwenno. Dates are below.

‘This Is My Truth, Tell Me Yours’ is reissued with a host of extras on December 7. It’s available as a 3CD set featuring the original remastered album, a disc of demos and a disc of B-sides and remixes. Remixers of singles from the album include Massive Attack, Stereolab and Mogwai. The reissue is also available to stream and download, with the vinyl version solely featuring the remastered album without the extras. The album’s singles include ‘If You Tolerate This Your Children Will Be Next’, ‘Tsunami’, ‘The Everlasting’ and ‘You Stole The Sun From My Heart’.

Sunflower Bean’s support comes after Nicky Wire told NME in June of his admiration for the band. He called the lyrics to their album ‘Twentytwo In Blue’ “amazing”, admitting they were one of the few new artists he admires.

As well as the tour for ‘This Is My Truth, Tell Me Yours’, singer James Dean Bradfield plays a sold-out rare solo concert at Newbridge Memo on December 12 in aid of Velindre Cancer Centre. Bradfield worked as a barman at the venue before the Manics were signed.

Manic Street Preachers’ 20th anniversary tour dates for ‘This Is My Truth, Tell Me Yours’ are:

Monday 12 May: Olympia Theatre, Dublin
Tuesday 14 May: Corn Exchange, Cambridge
Wednesday 15 May: Forum, Bath
Friday 17-Saturday 18 May: O2 Shepherds Bush Empire, London
Monday 20-Tuesday 21 May: Ritz, Manchester
Wednesday 23 May: Academy, Birmingham
Thursday 24 May: Guildhall, Southampton
Saturday 26 May: Usher Hall, Edinburgh
Sunday 27 May: Barbican, York
Wednesday 30 May: Olympia, Liverpool
Thursday 31 May: De Montford Hall, Leicester