Marcus Mumford and Clara Amfo among judges for 2018 Hyundai Mercury Music Prize

The shortlist will be announced tomorrow (July 26)

Marcus Mumford and Clara Amfo are among the judges for the 2018 Hyundai Mercury Music Prize, it has been confirmed.

The annual award will be given out to one British act on September 20 during a ceremony at London’s Eventim Apollo.

Organisers have now announced who will be deciding which artist and album is awarded the prestigious prize later this year, ahead of the shortlist being revealed tomorrow (July 26). The panel includes Mumford & Sons frontman Marcus Mumford, Radio 1 DJ Clara Amfo, singer-songwriters Lianne La Havas, Jamie Cullum and Ella Eyre, plus music critics and radio bosses.


The full judging panel is as follows:

Clara Amfo – broadcaster and DJ
Danielle Perry – broadcaster and writer
Ella Eyre – musician and songwriter
Harriet Gibsone – deputy editor, The Guardian Guide
Jamie Cullum – musician and songwriter
Jeff Smith – head of music, 6 Music and Radio 2
Lianne La Havas – musician and songwriter
Marcus Mumford – musician and songwriter
Mike Walsh – head of music, Radio X
MistaJam – DJ and broadcaster
Phil Alexander – creative director, Kerrang!/contributing editor, Mojo
Will Hodgkinson – chief rock and pop critic, The Times.

The 12 ‘Albums Of The Year’ will be revealed at a live launch event hosted by Radio 1’s Huw Stephens tomorrow, while fans can also tune in to Lauren Laverne’s 6 Music show at 11am to hear the shortlist.

In a press release, Mercury Prize chairman and executive producer David Wilkinson said: “There were over 200 albums entered for the 2018 Hyundai Mercury Prize. After months of listening to the albums, the judges then get together to decide on the 12 ‘Albums of the Year’. It’s been another exciting year for UK music – so it’s going to be a tough decision for them choosing the 12 albums. After last year’s successful event we’re looking forward to an equally eclectic and diverse shortlist being announced on 26 July.”

The 2017 Hyundai Mercury Music Prize was won by Sampha for his album ‘Process’. Skepta picked up the prize in 2016 for ‘Konnichiwa’.