‘Uptown Funk’ credits altered to include ‘Oops Upside Your Head’ writers

Five names added to 'Uptown Funk's listed songwriters

A change has been made to the credits of Mark Ronson‘s ‘Uptown Funk’ that sees the writers of The Gap Band’s 1979 number ‘Oops Up Side Your Head’ included as co-writers of the smash hit single.

As reported by Music Week, group members Ronnie Wilson, Charles Wilson and Robert Wilson, as well as record producer Lonnie Simmons and Rudolph Taylor, have been added to the song’s listed writers. They join Ronson, singer Bruno Mars, and producers Jeff Bhasker and Philip Lawrence, as well as Nicholas Williams (aka Trinidad James) and Devon Gallaspy, who both received credits for the use of a sample of James’s ‘All Gold Everything’.

How the five came to receive co-credit has not been revealed, though there does, at least on a surface level, appear to be similarities between the two funk-infused tracks. Click below to listen to both songs.

This change to ‘Uptown Funk”s listed personnel follows a series of high-profile legal wrangles over songwriting credits. Robin Thicke and Pharrell Williams were ordered to pay nearly $7.4 million to Marvin Gaye’s family in March after a jury determined their 2013 hit ‘Blurred Lines’ copied elements of the R&B icon’s 1977 single ‘Got To Give It Up’.

Prior to that ruling, Sam Smith agreed to pay Tom Petty songwriting royalties for his single ‘Stay With Me’ after similarity between the track and Petty’s 1989 track ‘I Won’t Back Down’ were highlighted.