Martha Wainwright announces release of new album ‘Come Home To Mama’

The singer songwriter will put out her third studio LP on October 15

Martha Wainwright is set to release her brand new album, ‘Come Home To Mama’, on October 15.

The album was recorded at Sean Lennon’s home studio in New York City and was produced was Yuka C Honda of Cibo Matto and features guest musicians Nels Cline of Wilco on guitar, Thomas Bartlett on keys, Brad Albetta – Wainwright’s husband – on bass and Jim White on drums.

The record is Wainwright’s third studio album, following 2005’s self-titled debut and 2008’s ‘I Know You’re Married But I’ve Got Feelings Too’. Speaking about the album, Wainwright said: “This record is a culmination of my life experiences so far. Everything changed for me a couple years ago and this record is a representation of that and a return to the reason I started writing songs.”


Of working with Honda, she added: “Making this record was a totally different experience. Yuka’s approach was very open. Sometimes I would just demo the song, singing in the closet which served as the vocal booth, then she would build the track around that. In other instances we would jam with a few musicians and try to get a live take.”

The ‘Come Home To Mama’ tracklisting is:

‘I Am Sorry’
‘Can You Believe It’
‘Radio Star’
‘Leave Behind’
‘Four Black Sheep’
‘Some People’
‘I Wanna Make An Arrest’
‘All Your Clothes’
‘Everything Wrong’