Massive Attack reveal EP artwork and tracklisting

'Ritual Spirit' will be their first release since 2010's 'Heligoland'

Massive Attack have teased possible album artwork on Instagram yesterday (January 22), a day after the band revealed personalised remixes of their new music via a new app named Fantom.

Posting to Instagram, Robert Del Naja (3D) appeared to reveal the vinyl sleeve of their upcoming release – their first since 2010’s ‘Heligoland’. The image shows some details of the tracklisting of what appears to be an EP called ‘Ritual Spirit’.

The EP seems to consist of the four tracks previewed on the Fantom app: ‘Dead Editors’, featuring Roots Manuva; ‘Voodoo In My Blood’, ‘Take It There’, featuring Tricky, and title track ‘Ritual Spirit’, featuring Scottish Mercury Prize-winners Young Fathers – who are touring with Massive Attack until early February.

See Del Naja’s post below:

The group’s Fantom app includes snippets of the four new songs and allows users to mix the tracks in real time. It was in part designed by the group’s own Robert del Naja, and has been described as a “sensory music player that remixes and reforms songs uniquely using a variety of environmental variables including location, movement, time of day, heartbeat and the integral moving image camera.” Find more information here.

Massive Attack are expected to announce a new album shortly. They are currently on tour in the UK – see their dates below:
Glasgow O2 Academy (22-23)
Leicester De Montford Hall (25)
Leeds O2 Academy (27)
Manchester Apollo (28)
Birmingham O2 Academy (30)
Portsmouth Guildhall (31)
Brighton Dome (February 1)
London Brixton O2 Academy (3-5)