Metallica release live album of Antarctica gig

'Freeze 'Em All' is available now to download

Metallica have released a live album recorded at their special gig in Antarctica.

The show took place earlier this month inside a dome at the Argentine Antarctic Base Carlini and saw the band playing a greatest hits set, including ‘For Whom The Bell Tolls’, ‘Master Of Puppets’ and ‘Enter Sandman’. Scroll down for a full tracklisting of the album, which is entitled ‘Freeze ‘Em All’ and can be downloaded from

During the concert audio was transmitted to an audience made up of competition winning fans from Latin America through headphones. Staged in conjunction with Coca Cola Zero, it was only the second ever gig to take place on the continent, following a performance in 2007 from a group of musical scientists, called Nunatak, at British Antarctic Survey’s Rothera Research Station as part of the Live Earth climate change awareness concerts.


Metallica will headline next year’s Sonisphere Festival alongside Iron Maiden. The Knebworth bash was cancelled in 2013 and 2012 but returns next year from July 4-6.

The ‘Freeze ‘Em All’ tracklisting is:

‘Creeping Death’
‘For Whom The Bell Tolls’
‘Sad But True’
Bass Solo
‘Welcome Home (Sanitarium)’
‘Master Of Puppets’
Kirk Solo
‘Nothing Else Matters’
‘Enter Sandman’
‘Seek & Destroy’