‘Metallica – Through The Never’ film soundtrack set for September release

The soundtrack to the band's 3D movie is out on September 23

Metallica are set to release the soundtrack for their forthcoming 3D feature film Metallica – Through The Never on September 23.

‘Metallica – Through The Never (Music from the Motion Picture)’ will comprise two CDs and includes tracks from their shows last year at Rexall Place in Edmonton and Rogers Arena in Vancouver, the gigs where the band recorded all their performance footage for the movie. A vinyl version will be available later in the year. The film will be released in the US on September 27 and in the UK later this autumn.

Speaking about the soundtrack, Lars Ulrich from the band commented: “Let’s hear it for the old school soundtrack! Not only are we beyond psyched about our movie coming your way shortly, but the fact that we get to share the music directly in all these formats is way fuckin’ cool.”

Metallica recently travelled to San Diego to appear on the Comic-Con panel for the film. During the panel, the first full-length trailer for the movie was unveiled – click below to watch it.

Metallica – Through The Never is a hybrid of concert movie and fictional feature film. Actor Dane DeHaan, best known for his roles in Chronicle and next year’s The Amazing Spider-Man 2, plays a roadie who gets sent on an urgent mission during a gig and ends up on a surreal adventure. “The stage is the star of the film,” Ulrich explained. “Making a movie about a stage and then bringing it to the people is a cool idea.” Lead guitarist Kirk Hammett then added: “It’s the biggest stage you’ll ever see anywhere.”

The ‘Metallica – Through The Never (Music from the Motion Picture)’ tracklisting is:

Disc 1
‘The Ecstasy Of Gold’
‘Creeping Death’
‘For Whom The Bell Tolls’
‘Ride The Lightning’
‘The Memory Remains’
‘Wherever I May Roam’
‘…And Justice For All’

Disc 2
‘Master Of Puppets’
‘Nothing Else Matters’
‘Enter Sandman’
‘Hit The Lights’