Metallica to reissue first two albums ‘Kill ‘Em All’ and ‘Ride The Lightning’

The band are set to unleash their classic LPs again on April 15

Metallica have announced today (February 18) that they will reissue their first two albums ‘Kill ‘Em All’ and ‘Ride The Lightning’ in April.  

Both albums have been remastered for the most advanced sound quality and will be available in three formats – CD, vinyl, and Deluxe Box set.

Both Deluxe Box sets include original source material from the band’s personal collection with many never before heard or seen recordings, along with books including rare photos and essays from those present on their musical journey.
The ‘Ride The Lightning’ box set will also include a deluxe book complete with more unseen photos, a mini-book of lyrics handwritten by James Hetfield and a set of three posters. 


The Deluxe Box sets are limited edition collectors’ items. Check out for the full package details and track listing.

Fans can pre-order both Deluxe Box sets at the Met Store now and all six new items will also be available at your local record store on Friday, April 15, just in time for Record Store Day.

Earlier this month, guitarist Kirk Hammett gave an update on when fans can expect their new album, where he revealed they are “slogging away” on the follow-up 2008’s ‘Death Magnetic’.

He explained to Rolling Stone: “[It’s] moving at a pace that allows us to live our lives and not have our lifestyles change too much,” adding that Metallica have “a bunch of songs, more than enough songs”, but none are finished.

You May Like