Metric announce new album tracklisting

Their fourth album 'Fantasies' comes out in April

Metric have announced details of their fourth studio album, entitled ‘Fantasies’ scheduled to be released on April 14.

The Canadian band will make the album available for pre-sale from March 2 via, and those who pre-order the album will immediately get an MP3 of the album’s first single, ‘Help I’m Alive’ plus bonus materials which are exclusive to the pre-order.

The album was produced by Gavin Brown and Jimmy Shaw, and mixed by John O’Mahony who’s previously worked with Coldplay and The Strokes.

The band self-financed the album, set up their own global label operation and put together a team to release the record in major territories around the world, going through existing labels in Canada and Mexico.

“We’re not doing it totally on our own” guitarist Jimmy Shaw says. “In Canada it’s coming out with Last Gang … and our friends at Arts & Crafts will be releasing the album in Mexico. We’ve set up distribution and hired our own staff to handle releasing the record in the USA, the UK, all throughout continental Europe, Japan, Australia and New Zealand. … We might go down in flames, or it might be the best move ever. Either way it will have been on our terms, and that for us is success.”

It was after meeting with prospective labels that the band decided to self-release the album, according to front-woman Emily Haines:

“We just said ‘oh fuck it, lets gamble’, took a deep breath and decided to put this record out worldwide our own way,” she says.

The tracklisting is:

‘Help I’m Alive’

‘Sick Muse’

‘Satellite Mind’

‘Twilight Galaxy’

‘Gold Guns Girls’

‘Gimme Sympathy’

‘Collect Call’

‘ Front Row’


‘Stadium Love’

–By our New York staff.

Find out more about NME.