Metric announce full details of new album ‘Synthetica’

Band also line-up a short UK tour for this summer

Metric have announced full details of their new studio album, ‘Synthetica’.

The album, which is the Canadian indie band’s fifth full-length offering, contains a total of 11 tracks and has been produced by the group’s guitarist Jimmy Shaw. The record will be released on June 18.

‘Synthetica’ is the follow-up to the band’s 2009 album ‘Fantasies’ and features a collaboration with Lou Reed, which is titled ‘The Wanderlust’. The album will be preceded by a single, ‘Youth Without Youth’, on May 18.

Speaking about the album, Shaw said: “‘Synthetica’ is the sonic culmination of everything we have done. We’ve always had a sound in our heads that we hoped to realize. We finally heard it coming out of the speakers this time. It’s futuristic and synthesized, yet also organic.”

The tracklisting for ‘Synthetica’ is as follows:

‘Artificial Nocturne’
‘Youth Without Youth’
‘Speed The Collapse’
‘Breathing Underwater’
‘Dreams So Real’
‘Lost Kitten’
‘The Void’
‘The Wanderlust’
‘Nothing But Time’

Metric will celebrate the album’s release with a short UK tour, playing a total of three shows in July.

The gigs begin in London at the O2 Shepherds Bush Empire on July 2, the band then play Manchester’s HMV Ritz on July 7 and finally Oxford’s O2 Academy on July 8. The band are not currently confirmed for any UK festivals.

You can watch the video for the band’s previous single ‘Gimme Sympathy’ by scrolling down to the bottom of the page and clicking.

Metric will play:

London O2 Shepherds Bush Empire (July 2)
Manchester HMV Ritz (7)
O2 Academy Oxford (8)

To check the availability of Metric tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0871 230 1094.