MIA teams up with ‘India’s Timbaland’ on Danny Boyle soundtrack

'Slumdog Millionaire' is due out next month

MIA has teamed up with famed Indian producer A.R. Rahman on several tracks for the forthcoming soundtrack to ‘Slumdog Millionaire’.

The album for the new Danny Boyle film is due out in the US on December 23, and will be available online beginning November 25.

MIA, who recorded much of her 2007 album ‘Kala’ in Rahman‘s studio, has called him ‘the Indian Timbaland‘ and was reportedly eager to collaborate with him.

In addition to MIA‘s hit ‘Paper Planes’ and a remixed version of the song, the soundtrack features the pair partnering on the previously unreleased track ‘O…Saya’.

“She’s a real powerhouse,” Rahman said of MIA in a statement. “Somebody played me her CD and I thought, ‘Who is this girl? She came here and knew all my work, had followed my work for ages. I said, ‘Cut the crap, this “my idol” crap. You have to teach me.’”

The album tracklisting is:

‘O… Saya’ Performed by A R Rahman & M.I.A.

‘Riots’ by A R Rahman

‘Mausam & Escape’ by A R Rahman

‘Paper Planes’ Performed by M.I.A.

‘Paper Planes’ DFA REMIX Performed by M.I.A.

”Ringa Ringa’ by A R Rahman featuring Alka Yagnik & Ila Arun

‘Liquid Dance’ by A R Rahman featuring Palakkad Sriram & Madhumitha

‘Latika’s Theme’ by A R Rahman featuring Suzanne

‘Aaj Ki Raat’ Performed by Sonu Nigam, Mahalaxmi Lyer & Alisha Chinoi

‘Millionaire’ by A R Rahman featuring Madhumitha

‘Gangsta Blues’ by A R Rahman featuring BlaaZe & Tanvi Shah

‘Dreams on Fire’ by A R Rahman featuring Suzzanne

‘Jai Ho’ by A R Rahman featuring Sukhvinder Singh, Tanvi Shah & Mahalaxmi Iyer

–By our Los Angeles staff.

Find out more about NME.

To receive the latest news updates every week – plus free MP3s, videos and more – sign up to the NME Newsletter.