MIA says that Diplo ‘owes an apology to my people’ following alleged Sri Lanka comments

The producer had initially claimed that MIA had apologised to him

MIA has demanded an apology from Diplo following their recent public dispute.

MIA recently gave an interview to Rolling Stone for the 10th anniversary of her debut album ‘Arular’, claiming that her relationship with Diplo broke down over his apparent jealousy over her success.

The singer claimed that when she signed to major label Interscope, the producer “literally smashed my hotel room and broke all the furniture because he was so angry I got picked up by a major label and it was the corniest thing in the world that could possibly happen.”


She continued: “I wish I enjoyed it because I had this person on my shoulder the whole time saying, ‘It’s shit, it’s shit, it’s shit. You shouldn’t be on the charts. You shouldn’t be in the magazines and you should not be going to interviews. You should not be doing collaborations with famous people. You should be an underground artist’.”

Diplo later responded by admitting that he was “really jealous and sad, and probably mad when she signed to a major label”, before claiming that he had seen her a day after the interview and that she had apologised.

Now, however, MIA has refuted these claims, directing a tweet at Diplo that reads: “I didn’t [apologise], I said you owe an apology to my people.” It is thought that MIA is referring to an alleged comment Diplo made about the plight of the Tamil people in Sri Lanka.

“I don’t mind if he said bad stuff about me, but to discredit and to devalue what happened in Sri Lanka and with Tamil people during the war is something that is a bit disgusting,” MIA told Rolling Stone. “Because there were real consequences to that article, where people died, real shit happened, and people are still going through it.”

Diplo’s Major Lazer project will release forthcoming new album ‘Peace Is The Mission’ in June. It will feature appearances from Ellie Goulding MØ, 2 Chainz, Pusha T and Elliphant, among others. Scroll below to see a video interview with Major Lazer about the LP.

The ‘Peace Is The Mission’ tracklisting is as follows:


‘Be Together’ feat. Wild Belle
‘Too Original’ feat. Elliphant & Jovi Rockwell
‘Blaze Up The Fire’ feat. Chronixx
‘Lean On’ feat. MØ & DJ Snake
‘Powerful’ feat. Ellie Goulding & Tarius Riley
‘Light It Up’ feat. Nyla
‘Roll the Bass’
‘Night Riders’ feat. Travi$ Scott, 2 Chainz, Pusha T & Mad Cobra
‘All My Love’ feat. Ariana Grande & Machel Montano (Remix)