Mika readies acoustic EP

'Songs For Sorrow' comes with illustrated book

Mika has announced that he will release a four-song, acoustic EP later this month.

‘Songs For Sorrow’ will be available via Mika’s website beginning May 25. The limited edition version of the EP will come packaged with a hard-back book of artwork by some of Mika’s favourite artists who contributed pieces based on their interpretations of the EP’s songs.

Contributing artists include Peter Blake, Paul Smith, Es Devlin, Jim Woodring, Sophie Blackall, Jim Medway, Tao Nyeu, Richard Hogg, Huck Scarry and Walter Van Beirendonck.

“The idea for the book then came from the lyrics to these songs, which are like dark fairy tales, and I thought it would be brilliant to get illustrations to go with them and to get some of my favorite artists to give their own interpretation on the stories,” Mika said in a statement.

Speaking about the album, he added: “It was good for me to strip everything back down to just the basics.”

–By our Los Angeles staff.
[url=”/about”] Find out more about NME.[/url]