Mogwai stream new track and announce new album – listen

The band's seventh album will be released on January 20

Mogwai have announced details of a brand new studio album.

Titled ‘Rave Tapes’, the album is the band’s first new material since 2011’s ‘Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will’. It will be released on January 20, 2014.

‘Rave Tapes’ was recorded at the band’s Castle of Doom studio in Glasgow with Paul Savage, who has worked with them previously.


The first track from the album, ‘Remurdered’, was also unveiled today (October 28). Listen to it below.

Mogwai released their debut album ‘Mogwai Young Team’ in 1997. It was followed up with 1999’s ‘Come On Die Young’, 2001’s ‘Rock Action’, 2003’s ‘Happy Songs For Happy People’, 2006’s ‘Mr Beast’, 2008’s ‘The Hawk Is Howling’ and 2011’s ‘Hardcore Will Never Die, But You Will’.

The ‘Rave Tapes’ tracklisting is as follows:

‘Heard About You Last Night’
‘Simon Ferocious’
‘Hexon Bogon’
‘Master Card’
‘Blues Hour’
‘No Medicine For Regret’
‘The Lord Is Out Of Control’

Mogawi will tour the UK in support of the album’s release. They will play:

Mill Volvo Tyne Theatre (January 22)
London Royal Festival Hall (24, 25)
Manchester Bridgewater Hall (27)
Glasgow Royal Concert Hall (28)


To check the availability of Mogwai tickets and get all the latest listings, go to NME.COM/TICKETS now, or call 0844 858 6765.