Slowdive, Mogwai and Editors supergroup Minor Victories announce debut album

Listen to a track from the band's self titled album inside

Members of Mogwai, Editors and Slowdive – collectively known as Minor Victories – have announced the release of their forthcoming self titled album and shared new music online.

Minor Victories was formed by Rachel Goswell of Slowdive, Stuart Braithwaite of Mogwai, Justin Lockey of Editors, and James Lockey of Hand Held Cine Club. The band release their self titled debut album on the 3rd June on Fat poissum/PIAS music (tracklisting below).

The first track to be teased – titled A Hundred Ropes – has been directed by band member James Lockey of Hand Held Cine Club in slow-motion frame capture video, with Consequence of Sound estimating that around 10 seconds of footage were stretched out for the track’s four minute duration.


You can watch the video and hear the new music in the player below.

Commenting on the video, Lockey said: “Basically the way I see it, we’re at a point where music videos or as they are most commonly known as nowadays ‘bits of content for the internets’ are so crammed with narrative with an insane and relentless amounts of cuts / editing etc to keep you interested that it’s become the norm to Tony Scott the fuck out of every single frame these days…(we know as we are definitely 100% guilty of this on numerous occasions in the past!)”.

“But nowadays to be totally honest it just gives me a massive fucking headache watching music videos most of the time! So, at the end of the day there’s nothing quite like the simplicity and beauty of a one shot done right… And a bunch of samurai’s emerging from a field and charging towards you at just under 1000 fps in monochrome? Well that’s always gonna look pretty cool whichever way you cut it.”

Read more: Editors, Slowdive and Mogwai members form new group Minor Victories

Minor Victories Tracklist:
01. Give Up The Ghost
02. A Hundred Ropes
03. Breaking My Light
04. Scattered Ashes (Song for Richard) (feat. James Graham)
05. Folk Arp
06. Cogs
07. For You Always (feat. Mark Kozelek)
08. Out To Sea
09. The Thief
10. Higher Hopes