Gruff Rhys joins the band in New York to work on the follow-up to 'Come On Die Young'...

Mogwai are lining up a collaboration with Super Furry Animals frontman GRUFF RHYS for their new album, currently being recorded in NEW YORK‘s SORCERER SOUND STUDIOS, NME.COM can reveal.

The producer of the new album is Dave Fridmann, who worked on their last album ‘Come On Die Young’ and produced Mercury Rev‘s ‘Deserter’s Songs‘.

The group hope to record vocals from Gruff on one track and also plan to approach Mudhoney‘s Mark Arm and Cat Power‘s Chan Marshall for further vocal duties.

Speaking to NME.COM, Mogwai frontman Stuart Braithwaite said: “There’ll be no more than eight. We want to try and make a single album. We’ve already done two double albums and I think it’d be hard to follow a totally different path by doing another double album. Most of the good albums ever made have been single albums.

“I think there’s certainly things on it that we haven’t done before, and there’s kinds of songs that people wouldn’t associate with us. In anything we do, I want to do something that affects people and that we’re proud of and isn’t throwaway or disposable.”

The likely release date for the new album is April 2001 and will be the first release on the band’s new label Southpaw.

Track titles are currently at the work-in-progress stage. They include: ‘Banjo‘, ‘String Song‘, ‘Close Encounters‘, ‘Sine Wave‘ and ‘The Big E‘.

For the full story, see this week’s NME, on sale now.