Morrissey pays tribute to locals as he kicks off UK tour

The star adds a little Scottish flavour in Glasgow

Morrissey paid tribute to the locals as kicked off his latest UK tour in Glasgow at the weekend (December 2).

The star, performing the SECC venue, introduced his 1988 solo classic ‘Everyday Is Like Sunday’ as ‘Everyday Is Like Dundee’, while keyboard player Mike Farrell played a version of the local New Year classic ‘Auld Lang Syne’ at the end of ‘Life Is A Pigsty’.

The set included five Smiths classics, including set opener ‘Panic’, ‘William, It Was Really Nothing’, ‘Girlfriend In A Coma’, ‘How Soon Is Now?’ and set closer ‘Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want’.


The set was:


‘First Of The Gang Of Die’

‘The Youngest Was The Most Loved’

‘You Have Killed Me’




‘William, It Was Really Nothing’

‘Everyday Is Like Sunday’

‘Dear God, Please Help Me’

‘Let Me Kiss You’

‘I’ve Changed My Plea To Guilty’

‘In The Future When All’s Well’

‘I Will See You In Far-Off Places’

‘Girlfriend In A Coma’

‘Irish Blood, English Heart’

‘Life Is A Pigsty’

‘How Soon Is Now?’

‘I Just Want To See The Boy Happy’

‘The National Front Disco’

‘Please Please Please Let Me Get What I Want’

The tour goes on to visit:

Newcastle Arena (December 4)

Nottingham Arena (5)

Birmingham NIA (7)

London Wembley Arena (8)

Manchester G-Mex (22, 23)

To check ticket availability go to NME.COM/Gigs.