The curator has selected a host of his favourite artists and people to join him at the London extravaganza...

Morrissey has announced the line-up for this year’s MELTDOWN festival, which will feature Libertines, The Ordinary Boys and punk legends New York Dolls.

The former Smiths frontman is curating this year’s event, which runs from June 11-27 at London’s South Bank Centre and will also see the singer play three concerts himself – opening the festival (June 11) and performing again on June 25-26.

Support for Morrissey‘s shows will come from Libertines, The Ordinary Boys, Cockney Rejects and Linder, with dates for each to be announced shortly.


Other acts highlights of this year’s Meltdown include Loudon Wainwright III, The Slits’ singer Ari Up, legendary dramatist Alan Bennett and Nancy Sinatra, who will perform the Morrissey-penned track ‘Let Me Kiss You’.

This year’s full Meltdown line-up is:

Morrissey (Royal Festival Hall, June 11)

Sparks (Royal Festival Hall, 12)

‘We Are All In The Gutter. An Evening With Mr Wilde’ Devised and directed by Neil Bartlett (Queen Elizabeth Hall, 13)

Loudon Wainwright III (Queen Elizabeth Hall, 15)


The Films Of Bob Gruen (Queen Elizabeth Hall, 16)

An Audience With Alan Bennett (Queen Elizabeth Hall, 17)

Ennio Marchetto (Purcell Room, 17)

New York Dolls (Royal Festival Hall, 18)

Ennio Marchetto (Purcell Room, 18)

Jane Birkin / Ari Up (Royal Festival Hall, 19)

Ennio Marchetto (Purcell Room, 19)

Nancy Sinatra (Royal Festival Hall, 20)

Lypsinka! The Boxed Set (Queen Elizabeth Hall, 23-24)

Morrissey (Royal Festival Hall, 25-26)

Gorecki’s Symphony No. 3 (Symphony Of Sorrowful Songs) featuring Yvonne Kenny (Royal Festival Hall, 27)

For tickets contact the Meltdown festival on 08703 808 300 or click [url=]here.