First extract of Morrissey’s debut novel ‘List Of The Lost’ revealed

Read a sneak preview of the book, which will be published this week by Penguin

A short snippet has been revealed from Morrissey‘s upcoming debut novel, List Of The Lost.

The book will be Morrissey’s first effort of fiction after entering the literature world with his best-selling memoir Autobiography in October 2013, which was released as a Penguin Classic.

List Of The Lost will be published by Penguin Books this week (September 24). Ahead of its release, Penguin have previewed prose from the novel.

The extract reads, “Look at the blue of the sky and tell me why you held back. Did you think there would one day be a bluer sky and a better hour? What did you think before you were aware?”

Back in January 2014, Morrissey said, “I am midway through my novel. I have my hopes. The actuality is that radio stations will not play my music, and the majority of people have lost faith in the music industry, and it’s generally assumed – quite rightly – that the Number One chart positions are ‘bought’ by the major labels, so there really is no passion left in pop or rock music, and I don’t think people believe for an instant that the faces we constantly see on television and in magazines are remotely popular.”


Meanwhile, Morrissey said “there is no need for me to say goodbye” as he played what could be his final UK gig at the Eventim Apollo in Hammersmaith, London on Monday (September 21).

Morrissey stated last week, “There is absolutely no way that we can generate any interest from record labels in the United Kingdom, therefore the imminent two nights at Hammersmith are likely to be our final ever UK shows.”

The Smiths’ former frontman closed the second show by telling the crowd that “our UK days conclude, but there is no need for me to say goodbye because we will all be close for the rest of our days”.

Morrissey played:

‘You’ll Be Gone’
‘Let The Right One Slip In’
‘World Peace Is None Of Your Business’
‘Kiss Me A Lot’
‘Staircase At The University’
‘Alma Matters’
‘Will Never Marry’
‘My Dearest Love’
‘The Bullfighter Dies’
‘The World Is Full Of Crashing Bores’
‘Oboe Concerto’
‘Meat Is Murder’
‘Now My Heart Is Full’
‘Mama Lay Softly On The Riverbed’
‘I Will See You In Far-Off Places’
‘Everyday Is Like Sunday’
‘The Queen Is Dead’