The former Smiths singer kicks off the 'Under The Influence' series...

NEW YORK DOLLS, PATTI SMITH and NICO are among the acts on a new compilation put together by Morrissey to showcase his musical influences.

The former Smiths frontman has put the collection together for a new series of releases called ‘Under The Influence’, put together by the same people who introduced the hugely successful ‘Back To Mine’ series.

Morrissey‘s 15-track collection is released on May 26. It will be followed by a selection from Ian Brown in July.


The full tracklisting for the Morrissey collection is as follows:

Lesa Cormier & The Sundown Playboys – ‘Saturday Nite Special’

The New York Dolls – ‘Trash’

Nat Couty – ‘Woodpecker Rock’

Diana Dors – ‘So Little Time’

Ludus – ‘Breaking The Rules’


Charlie Feathers – ‘One Hand Loose’

Tyrannosaurus Rex – ‘Great Horse’

Jimmy Radcliff – ‘(There Goes) The Forgotten Man’

Jaybee Wasden – ‘De Castrow’

Ramones – ‘Judy Is A Punk’

Sparks – ‘Arts And Crafts Spectacular’

The Cats – ‘Swan Lake’

Nico – ‘All That Is My Own’

Patti Smith – ‘Hey Joe’

Klaus Nomi – ‘Death’