Listen to Morrissey and Ed Droste cover Jobriath’s ‘Morning Starship’

Taken from Morrissey's new covers album, 'California Son'

Morrissey and Ed Droste have shared their cover of Jobriath’s ‘Morning Starship’ – listen to it below.

The track is taken from Morrissey’s upcoming covers album ‘California Son’ that will also feature covers of Bob Dylan, Joni Mitchell, Roy Orbison and more.

This new cover of ‘Morning Starship’ takes its cues from Grizzly Bear‘s trademark harmonies, giving the 1973 track a new, psychedelic twist. You can listen to the cover and the original below.


Morrissey first announced the album in December. It’s due for release on May 24, and you can see the full tracklist below.

01. Morning Starship (Jobriath)
02. Don’t Interrupt The Sorrow (Joni Mitchell)
03. Only A Pawn In Their Game (Bob Dylan)
04. Suffer The Little Children (Buffy Sainte Marie)
05. Days Of Decision (Phil Ochs)
06. It’s Over (Roy Orbison)
07. Wedding Bell Blues (Laura Nyro)
08. Loneliness Remembers What Happiness Forgets (Dionne Warwick)
09. Lady Willpower (Gary Puckett & the Union Gap)
10. When You Close Your Eyes (Carly Simon)
11. Lenny’s Tune (Tim Hardin)
12. Some Say I Got Devil (Melanie)

Last month, Morrissey shared his cover of Roy Orbison’s ‘It’s Over’ from the album.


Meanwhile, the singer recently announced an “intimate” Broadway residency which will see him play a set of New York City gigs ahead of the album’s release.

Set to take place exclusively at the Lunt-Fontanne Theater, the residency will see Morrissey deliver “an intimate yet exciting exploration of Morrissey’s expansive career from his early days to his upcoming new record.”