Mos Def reveals new album details

New York rapper announces release date and title

Mos Def is set to release his first album since 2006’s ‘True Magic’ in August.

‘The Ecstatic’ will be released on August 24, and will feature a number of guest collaborators.

Album track ‘History’ – which is based on a sample from a song by Motown singer Mary Wells – features an appearance from Talib Kweli, who the rapper previously worked with on a joint album, ‘Black Star’, back in 1998.

London-born MC Slick Rick guests on ‘Auditorium’, while ‘Quiet Dog’ features a sample from an interview with Nigerian musician Fela Kuti from the ‘Music Is The Weapon’ documentary, filmed in 1982.

The tracklisting for ‘The Ecstatic’ will be:

‘Twilite Speedball’
‘Auditorium w/The Ruler’ (featuring Slick Rick)
‘Quiet Dog’
‘Life In Marvellous Times’
‘The Embassy’
‘No Hay Nada Mas’
‘Pretty Dancer’
‘Workers Camp’
‘Roses’ (featuring Georgia Anne Muldrow)
‘History’ (feat. Talib Kweli)
‘Casa Bey’