Mumford & Sons unveil new track ‘I Will Wait’ – listen

The four-piece offer up the first taste of their second album 'Babel'

Mumford & Sons have unveiled ‘I Will Wait’, the first official song to be taken from their new album ‘Babel’. Scroll down to the bottom of the page to listen.

The band debuted the track on Radio 1 earlier this evening. Ben Lovett of the band spoke to Huw Stephens, who is sitting in for presenter Zane Lowe. “It’s the worst track on the record – we just thought we’d get it out,” joked Lovett by way of an introduction. “It’s only up from here!”

‘Babel’, which is the follow-up to the quartet’s hugely successful debut ‘Sigh No More’, will be released on September 24. It has been produced by Arcade Fire/Coldplay collaborator Markus Dravs, who also worked with the band on their first album.


On working with Dravs again, Lovett told Stephens: “We didn’t want to do anything massively new – we didn’t want to push the boat out too much.” When asked if he had a favourite song on the new album, Lovett said he couldn’t pick as they were all “newly born children – they haven’t quite grown their hair yet”.

Lovett also said that he and the band hope to tour the UK again by the end of 2012, adding: “We just wanna play some UK dates – we’re just figuring it out.”

A number of other ‘Babel’ tracks, including ‘Lover’s Eyes’ and ‘Ghosts That We Knew’, have been debuted in the band’s live shows throughout their recent tours.

The band are currently touring North America on their ‘Gentlemen Of The Road’ tour and played a series of large UK shows last month.

Speaking about the record, the band said: “As a band, we’ve never been closer or more collaborative, all working to our strengths. And so we feel that this record is a natural progression that we’re proud of, and we cannot wait to take it out on the road.”

The tracklisting for ‘Babel’ is as follows:


‘Whispers In The Dark’
‘I Will Wait’
‘Holland Road’
‘Ghosts That We Knew’
‘Lover Of The Light’
‘Lovers’ Eyes’
‘Hopeless Wanderer’
‘Broken Crown’
‘Below My Feet’
‘Not With Haste’