‘O Brother, Where Art Thou?’ soundtrack to be reissued with new songs

The original album will be accompanied by a host of extra songs

The multi-million selling soundtrack to O Brother, Where Art Thou? is set to be reissued with bonus disc of never-before-heard tracks.

The bluegrass and US roots music soundtrack for the Coen Brothers‘ 2000 film – which has sold eight million copies in the US alone – is being rereleased under the auspices of original producer T-Bone Burnett and will feature a special bonus disc. The extra track disc includes over 10 songs recorded for the film which were never released.

The original soundtrack won the Grammy for Album of the Year in 2001. Mumford and Sons have often spoke about how the album was an early influence on their sound. The new double album will be released on August 29 on Universal.


The O Brother, Where Art Thou reissue tracklisting is:

Disc One – Original soundtrack:
‘Po’ Lazarus’ – James Carter and prisoners
‘Big Rock Candy Mountain’ – Harry McClintock
‘You Are My Sunshine’ – Norman Blake
‘Down To The River To Pray’ – Alison Krauss
‘I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow’ – The Soggy Bottom Boys
‘Hard Time Killing Floor Blues’ – Chris Thomas King
‘I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow’ – Norman Blake
‘Keep On The Sunny Side’ – The Whites
‘I’ll Fly Away’ – Alison Krauss & Gillian Welch
‘Didn’t Leave Nobody But The Baby’ – Emmylou Harris, Alison Krauss & Gillian Welch
‘In The Highways’ – Sarah, Hannah, and Leah Peasall
‘I Am Weary, Let Me Rest’ – The Cox Family
‘I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow’ – John Hartford
‘O Death’ – Ralph Stanley
‘In The Jailhouse Now’ – The Soggy Bottom Boys
‘I Am A Man Of Constant Sorrow’ – The Soggy Bottom Boys
‘Indian War Whoop’- John Hartford
‘Lonesome Valley’ – Fairfield Four
‘Angel Band’ – The Stanley Brothers

Disc Two:
Bonus Disc – Unreleased Tracks
‘Hard Time Killing Floor Blues’ – Colin Linden
‘You Are My Sunshine’ – Alan O’Bryant
‘Tishamingo Blues’ – John Hartford
‘I’ll Fly Away’ – The Kossoy Sisters with Erik Darling
‘Big Rock Candy Mountain’ – Van Dyke Parks
‘Tom Devil’ – Ed Lewis and the Prisoners
‘Keep On The Sunny Side’ – The Cox Family
‘Angel Band’ – Sarah, Hannah and Leah Peasall and Robert Hamlett
‘Big Rock Candy Mountain’ – Norman Blake
‘Little Sadie’ – Norman Blake
‘In The Highways’ – The Cox Family
‘Hogfoot’ – John Hartford
‘The Lord Will Make A Way’ – Fairfield Four
‘In The Jailhouse Now’ – Harley Allen