Muse thank Rick Rubin for teaching them ‘how not to produce’ at Music Producers Guild Awards

Matt Bellamy and co join the likes of Franz, Dizzee Rascal, Florence Welch, Jamie T and Paul Epworth at London ceremony

Muse had a dig at Rick Rubin at this year’s Music Producers Guild Awards tonight (February 11), as Paul Epworth was named Producer Of The Year at the London ceremony.

Matt Bellamy joked about the veteran producer as his band picked up the UK Single Of The Year for ‘Uprising’.

“We produced something! I’d like to thank John Leckie for teaching us how to produce and Rick Rubin for teaching us how not to produce,” the singer told the room to a chorus of oohs, before adding, “I thought you’d like that one!”

Meanwhile Epworth was recognised for his work with the likes of Jack Penate, Friendly Fires and Florence And The Machine, with the latter’s Florence Welch coming onstage to present him with the trophy.

The award also means Epworth will pick up Best Producer at this year’s BRIT Awards next week (February 16).

“I’m just over the moon man, it’s not something you desire to work towards, you desire to make good music, but it’s always nice when that’s honoured and recognised. Ultimately a good producer is someone who helps an artists be the best they can be. I’ve really enjoyed working with the people I’ve worked with,” Epworth told NME.COM after receiving his award.

“I just try to make each record different. I like to think I don’t have a sound . With Florence it felt like we found something we could get excited about and channel, with Jack we found something totally different and channelled it and sometimes the job isn’t production you have to tell them what to do and then make sure they don’t get bogged down with the details. It’s a funny artform.”

Dizzee Rascal received the UK Album Of The Year Award for ‘Tongue N Cheek’, while Jamie T presented Cenzo Townshend with Mix Engineer Of The Year at the ceremony held at the Cafe De Paris.

Simian Mobile Disco were named Remixers Of The Year, while ironically Rick Rubin later won International Producer, though he was not present.

Breakthrough Producer was given to former Delgados man Paul Savage, receiving his award from Franz Ferdinand‘s Alex Kapranos who declared: “this breakthrough is a long time coming, he’s a good guy you’re going to be hearing a lot from him in the future.”

Island Records founder Chris Blackwell was given an outstanding contribution to music award by the Guild‘s judging panel, which was accepted on his behalf by veteran producer Joe Boyd, while late guitar and production innovator Les Paul was honoured posthumously with the Joe Meek Award For Innovation In Production.