Muse say new album ‘Drones’ is ‘a modern metaphor for what it is to lose empathy’

Matt Bellamy speaks to Radio 1's Annie Mac following new single 'Dead Inside'

Muse have opened up about their new album ‘Drones’, following the release of their latest single ‘Dead Inside’.

‘Dead Inside’ was released worldwide last night (March 23) and frontman Matt Bellamy spoke to Radio 1’s Annie Mac to coincide with the premiere.

Speaking previously about the record Bellamy said it “explores the journey of a human, from their abandonment and loss of hope, to their indoctrination by the system to be a human drone, to their eventual defection from their oppressors”.


Now, speaking to Mac, Bellamy elaborated that the album was “a modern metaphor for what it is to lose empathy.” He continued: “I think that through modern technology, and obviously through drone warfare in particular, it’s possible to actually do quite horrific things by remote control, at a great distance, without actually feeling any of the consequences, or even feeling responsible in some way.”

“The next step in drones is gonna be autonomous drones, which actually make ‘kill’ decisions themselves, where no humans are involved,” Bellamy added.

Muse finished a short tour of intimate UK venues last night (March 23) at Brighton’s Dome. Speaking about the live stint, Bellamy said that the recently-revealed ‘Psycho’ garnered an overwhelmingly positive response from the crowds. “It’s just one of those cheap house riffs. Ours sounds like a cross between a donkey and a mule, whatever it is,” he said. “It’s just one of those cheap riffs that everybody gets straight away and it’s really cool.”

Muse’s seventh studio album ‘Drones’ is due for release on June 8 and is the follow up to 2012’s ‘The 2nd Law’. Listen to ‘Dead Inside’ below.

The band are confirmed to headline this summer’s Download festival, which takes place June 12-14 at Donington Park. Slipknot and Kiss will also top the bill. Other acts to play include Faith No More, Judas Priest, Motley Crue, Slash, L7, Enter Shikari, Marilyn Manson, Andrew WK, A and Rise Against.


The ‘Drones’ tracklisting is:

‘Dead Inside’
‘[Drill Sergeant]’
‘The Handler’
‘The Globalist’

You May Like