Muse unveil new single ‘Dead Inside’ – listen

The song is the opening track on the band's seventh album, 'Drones'

Muse have unveiled their brand new single, ‘Dead Inside’.

Click below for the official lyric video. The track will feature on Muse’s seventh studio album ‘Drones’, which is due for release on June 8 and is the follow up to 2012’s ‘The 2nd Law’.


Speaking about the song, frontman Matt Bellamy commented, via Consequence of Sound: “This is where the story of the album begins, where the protagonist loses hope and becomes ‘Dead Inside’, therefore vulnerable to the dark forces introduced in ‘Psycho’ and which ensue over the next few songs on the album, before eventually defecting, revolting and overcoming these dark forces later in the story.”

The ‘Drones’ tracklisting is:

‘Dead Inside’
‘[Drill Sergeant]’
‘The Handler’
‘The Globalist’

Muse finish a short tour of intimate UK venues tonight (March 23) at Brighton’s Dome. The band are confirmed to headline this summer’s Download festival, which takes place June 12-14 at Donington Park. Slipknot and Kiss will also top the bill. Other acts to play include Faith No More, Judas Priest, Motley Crue, Slash, L7, Enter Shikari, Marilyn Manson, Andrew WK, A and Rise Against.