Kevin Shields contributes to the soundtrack of Sofia Coppola's new movie...

KEVIN SHIELDS, the mainman behind My Bloody Valentine, will release his first new music in more than a decade on the soundtrack to the forthcoming SOFIA COPPOLA film ‘LOST IN TRANSLATION’.

Shields is contributing four songs to the film, ‘City Girl’, ‘Golf Course’, ‘Are You Awake?’ and ‘Ikebana’, alongside My Bloody Valentine‘s previously released ‘Sometimes’.

The last time Shields’ songwriting appeared was on My Bloody Valentine‘s 1991 album ‘Loveless’. After signing to Island shortly after its release, the band indulged in years of sessions for a follow-up until the group dissolved in the mid-90s.

After appearing on records with Dinosaur Jr, Curve, Dot Allison and J Mascis. & The Fog, the guitarist has been playing with Primal Scream for the past few years.

The new songs will appear alongside an exclusive new track by Air – ‘Alone in Kyoto’ – and previously unreleased music by Madness, [/a], Phoenix and [a].

According to Billboard, ‘Lost In Translation’, starring Bill Murray, will be released later in the year, and examines close friendships against the backdrop of Tokyo.