My Morning Jacket man to release George Harrison covers EP

Jim James covers six tracks for the offering

My Morning Jacket frontman Jim James is set to release an EP of George Harrison covers, scheduled to come out on August 4.

James will release ‘Tribute To’ under the name of Yim Yames, and reportedly recorded the tracks shortly after Harrison’s death in 2001.

In addition to four solo tracks, James covers two songs that Harrison wrote with The Beatles‘Long, Long, Long’ and ‘Love You To’, according to Billboard.


Meanwhile, James is also gearing up for the release of an album on which he collaborated with Conor Oberst, Mike Mogis, and M Ward.

Calling themselves ‘Monsters Of Folk’, the four recorded 15 tracks for the release, which is due to come out on September 22.

The ‘Tribute To’ tracklisting is:

‘Long, Long, Long’
‘Behind That Locked Door’
‘Love You To’
‘My Sweet Lord’
‘Ballad of Sir Frankie Crisp (Let It Roll)’
‘All Things Must Pass’

The ‘Monsters Of Folk’ tracklisting is:

‘Dear God (sincerely M.O.F.)’
‘Say Please’
‘Whole Lotta Losin”
‘The Right Place’
‘Baby Boomer’
‘Man Named Truth’
‘Ahead Of The Curve’
‘Slow Down Jo’
‘Losin Yo Head’
‘Magic Marker’
‘Map Of The World’
‘The Sandman, The Brakeman And Me’
‘His Master’s Voice’

–By our New York staff.
[url=”/about”]Find out more about NME.[/url]